Patient of the Year

The Patient of the Year Award, sponsored by the Kevin and Sandra Hutton Foundationrecognizes an emergency medical transport patient OR patients whose survival and eventual recovery can be attributed to the medical transport and medical intervention, and the team/program that performed the medical transport.

Stay tuned! 

Nominations for the
2022 Patient of the Year
will open shortly!

The patient(s) must be able and willing to tell their story publicly; authorize the use of their protected health information relevant to their transport, recovery, and rehabilitation; and then travel to AMTC (expenses paid) to receive the award during the appropriate recognition event.


The patient should demonstrate knowledge of their medical event, the circumstances that contributed to the decision to request a medical transport (e.g., lack of appropriate medical care in the local area, remote or rural setting, time-sensitive illness or injuries, etc.), and how the medical transport contributed to their recovery.  The award recipient will be able to discuss how the medical transport contributed to improving their quality-of-life and the impact the provider program has in their local community.   The award recipient should also show how their professional and/or personal values, typifying the ideals of “giving of oneself,” and “making a difference in, or enhancing the lives of others” has been affected by their experience (e.g., decided to pursue a clinical career, etc.).

Past Winners