MedEvac Transport of the Year


The MedEvac Transport of the Year, sponsored by the Kevin and Sandra Hutton Foundation, is presented in recognition of the multidisciplinary team effort needed, from point of injury to discharge, to achieve the best possible outcome for the most critically ill and injured patients.

The MedEvac Transport of the Year highlights a patient transport that stands out because of efforts across the continuum of care, from point of injury to discharge. Communications specialists, first responders, referring hospital, flight and ground teams, receiving hospitals and trauma/surgical teams – so many individuals play a vital role and we want to acknowledge and celebrate these lifesaving efforts across the board.

Since 2015, the MedEvac Foundation has presented its annual Patient of the Year Award to celebrate an emergency medical transport patient whose survival can be attributed to air medical intervention, and to recognize the team/program that performed the medical transport.


After listening to feedback from the community, the MedEvac Foundation and our longtime award sponsor, the Kevin and Sandra Hutton Foundation, have decided to revise and refresh this annual award to more accurately recognize and highlight the robust and multidisciplinary team effort needed for the best possible patient outcome.


Nominations for 2023 will open in August 2023.

The patient and members of the transport team must be available to accept the award in person at the Air Medical Transport Conference in Columbus, Ohio - Oct 23-25, 2023.  Additionally,  the patient must be willing to tell their story publicly and authorize the use of their protected health information relevant to their transport and recovery.


The patient and three (3) patient caregivers will receive:

  • Complimentary AMTC full registration
  • One (1) free night of hotel accommodations in Columbus, Ohio

Past Patient of the Year Winners